The Unasked Question

It is never wise to give an answer to a question that hasn’t been asked.  When a question is actually asked, there is already a readiness to accept or hear the answer.  Therefore, surprising as it might seem, there are times (when your brother is suffering and you see the ridiculousness of it, the complete lack of necessity for it) when it is not appropriate for you to do anything . . . when it is appropriate for your brother to be uncomfortable with his limited sense of what the truth is about himself.

Why?  So that at the level of feeling, the question that needs to be asked can take form.

Why?  So that he can arrive at the point where, for his reasons, he says, “I don’t want to have this experience any longer.”  “I refuse to justify having this experience.”  “I will abandon my arguments in favor of being limited and being in pain.”  “How do I have that experience of letting go?”  “How do I have the experience of freedom from pain?”

Now the question has been asked, and the readiness for the answer is present.

ACIM Study Group / May 4th, 2013


This entry was posted in Quotables. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Unasked Question

  1. Jonathan says:

    I feel that this is true most of the time, but not all of the time. What I mean by that there are times when you must speak what is on one’s mind. Even though the one has not ask the question verbally, does not mean they are not asking. Listen to the Holy Spirit in them and ask are they asking or are they listening. Raj has said what is there level of willingness and I mean that their listening capacity. It is better to wait to they ask or to ask the Holy Spirit what is needed here in this situation or relationship. How are they going to interpret what you are saying. Asking is an invitation and a giving permission. I know for me when it is appropriate to speak is when it flows and the words comes easy. It is also important to know when to be quiet and let what is spokne to register with them. Like planting seeds. We may plant the seed, but God will give the increase

  2. Anneke Raphael says:

    Sometimes I can hear my daughter asking and all it is may be a cry for love. Her words are comfused and her mind is all over the place with her situation. She is choosing more bondage in her relationship with a man who is not nice to her, and until she walks away or changes her mind about him, there is nothing I can do but give a listening heart to her. She is always sad. It breaks my heart to see her this way, and i hold the Holy Spirit in my mind for her and her freedom in the HOLy Spirit which is her truest self. The Holy Spirit is working with her i now know.

    • Gail says:

      Anneke,
      I pray for your daughter’s inner ear…may she hear the higher voice within her just as I pray for my son to hear his. Our job then, you and I, is to get into our Peace and remain there in the only place from which we can serve them. Peace be with you.

  3. Miguel Carvalho says:

    About giving to what you value; Check out Amanda Palmer at http://www.ted.com/talks/amanda_palmer_the_art_of_asking.html

  4. Gail says:

    I have been to the wall in my life more than once at a place where I finally asked such questions and they are what moved me out of pain. I know better and yet, have provided answers in advance of the question to my oldest son, because of my own attachment to my desire that he be free from his suffering. He has told me he wants from me only a listening heart. This relates to my post to the “Proper Measuring Stick” –the call to Love is there and my listening heart is the answer to that call, but it requires my full embrace that God is All in all for me to abide there quietly. You are always spot on. Thank you!

  5. This saves a lot of unnecessary pain.
    And therefore brings relief.
    Let the dead bury the dead!

  6. Miguel Carvalho says:

    how true. The unasked for answer is not heard for the question was not asked.
    But my perception always raises a question that I must answer within for true satisfaction.
    Thank You Paul and Raj.

  7. Fran law says:

    I really like the truth of this….there is then openess to receive…thank you raj

  8. Sun~Rose says:

    The more I think about it, the more I like it.
    Thank You Bpth.
    Love,
    Sun~Rose

Leave a Reply

